GOP honors black congressmen and senators

A resolution, co-sponsored by Virgin Islands GOP National Committeeman Jevon Williams, honoring the country’s first black congressmen and senators was passed by the Republican National Committee today.

“The Republican Party has always been the party of opportunity and inclusion,” said Williams. “We were founded as the anti-slavery party in 1854.”

The resolution, which Williams co-sponsored alongside North Carolina GOP National Committeewoman Ada Fisher, honors Congressmen Robert B. Elliott, Robert C. De Large, Benjamin S. Turner, Jefferson F. Long, Joseph H. Rainey, and Josh T. Walls and Senator Hiram R. Revels—all of whom were elected from the Southern states after the Civil War.

The resolution also calls on the U.S. Postal Service to issue a Black Heritage series postage stamp in their honor.

Download (PDF, 71KB)

Comments are closed.