Virgin Islanders elect new national GOP chairman

The territory’s three members of the Republican National Committee joined GOP leaders from across the country in electing the party’s new national chairman.

Republican Chairman John Canegata, National Committeewoman and former territorial Sen. Lilliana Belardo de O’Neal, and National Committeeman Jevon Williams cast their votes for Ronna Romney McDaniel to succeed incoming White House chief of staff Reince Priebus as chairman of the Republican National Committee.

“I’ve spent my entire career in public service fighting to create opportunities for women,” said Belardo de O’Neal. “It will be great to address the leader of our party as madam chairman.”

Canegata, Belardo de O’Neal and Williams have been in Washington all week for meetings ahead of Trump’s inauguration Friday.

Later today they will meet with the Republican majority on the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, which has jurisdiction over the Virgin Islands and the other four U.S. territories.

Each of the 50 states, five territories and the District of Columbia are represented on the Republican National Committee by three members—the state chairman, national committeewoman, and national committeeman.

Comments are closed.